About Us

MISSION STATEMENT: Pope Memorial Humane Society of Knox County is devoted to caring for and placing unwanted and abandoned animals in loving homes; promoting responsible pet ownership, humane treatment of all animals; demonstrating and enhancing the benefits of the human-animal bond and ending pet overpopulation through aggressive spay/neuter and Trap Neuter Return programs.

OUR HISTORY: The Pope Memorial Humane Society of Knox County was founded in 1989 in response to the needs of homeless animals – their protection, care and adoption. Money was raised to purchase the land between Dexter Street Extension and Buttermilk Lane in Thomaston, Maine. With generous support of many animal lovers, and a substantial mortgage, the shelter was built and opened in November 1991. Since that day thousands of animals have been lovingly tended, rehabilitated and adopted.  Volunteers and members of PMHSKC are from every community – students, retirees, artists and businesses.

The following towns contract with the Pope Memorial Humane Society of Knox County:  Rockland, Thomaston, Warren, Owls Head, St. George, Port Clyde, Martinsville & Tenants Harbor; So. Thomaston Spruce Head, Hope, Union, Appleton, Montville, Cushing, Matinicus, North Haven, and Vinalhaven, Stockton Springs, Morrill and Thorndike.

* All animals admitted to our facility are cared for until they are adopted.

No animal is euthanized unless severe physical or 
behavioral problem exists that cannot be resolved.
Animals are not euthanized for time or space.

* Open Monday through Saturday for your convenience from 11am-5pm.
Closed on Sundays

Closed New Years Day, Easter, Memorial Day,
Fourth of July, Labor Day, Thanksgiving,
and Christmas

Pope Memorial Humane Society of Knox County
Behind The Fence

Tracy Sala, Executive Director

Theresa Gargan, Manager

Grace McMullan, Events/Outreach Coordinator

 Our Board of Directors

We are fortunate to have a passionate  Board of Directors that is dedicated
to the Humane Society’s mission.  Their hard work and guidance enables us to make wonderful changes in the community.

Kim Grinnell— President
Kathy deRochemont – Vice President
Judy Brogden—Treasurer
Paulette Stewart
Dr. Glenn Yovino
Alicia Costa
Warner Vaughan

Lyman Pope, Advisor


Notice of Special Meeting of Members
Pope Memorial Humane Society of Knox County
Maine Corporation

Notice is now given that a special meeting of the members has been called by the Board of Directors and will be held on March 23, 2015 at 5:00pm at Watt’s Hall, Main Street, Thomaston, Maine for the purpose of amending the Articles of Incorporation.  The proposed amendments affect the fifth and eighth articles regarding changes to membership categories and voting privileges (fifth) and the process of amendment of the Articles of Incorporation going forward (eighth).

For the details on the proposed amendments, please click HERE.

NOTE: The proxy ballot for the member meeting vote is available HERE.

Please note that both of these documents will also be available at the Shelter front desk.  In addition, copies will also be mailed to each of our members at the end of next week. 

Kim Grinnell, President